New ISTE Student Standards

by Jean Tower


ISTE has launched a draft version of the new standards for students.

Look them over and provide feedback. Right now they are in draft form and ISTE has a feedback mechansim on the page linked above.

They are a departure from past standards. Each standard has clarifying details, but the broad headings are:

  1. Empowered Learner
  2. Knowledge Constructor
  3. Innovative Designer/Maker
  4. Computational Thinker
  5. Creator and Communicator
  6. Global Collaborator
  7. Digital Citizen

These will be replacing the current set of standards:

  1. Creativity and Innovation
  2. Communication and Collaboration
  3. Research and Information Fluency
  4. Critical Thinking, Problem Solving and Decision Making
  5. Digital Citizenship
  6. Technology Operations and Concepts

I like the shift from a description of skills to descriptiors about the learner.I also notice that technology operations has dropped from the list. This mirrors how we are thinking about technology in the classroom – we do want students to understand the basics, but we expect this knowledge to be acquired throughout their learning.

What do you think?





image source: linkedin

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: