Free Images

by Jean Tower

I have presented several times lately on the topic of creating visual presentations and on using the Pecha Kucha format of presenting. Pecha Kucha is a format that constrains your presentation to 20 slides, 20 seconds per slide.

To learn more about Pecha Kucha, see the following resources:

My Pecha Kucha Post
Daniel Pink Video
Pecha Kucha Organization ~ There are many examples provided at this site.

Whether you style your presentation after Pecha Kucha or not, powerful and high resolution graphics are an important part of a good presentation. Here are some really good resources to use in your hunt for free, high quality images.

  1. Google – Image http://www.google.com/imghp?hl=en&tab=wi
    Go to advanced Image Search and select Labeled for Reuse under Usage Rights.
  2. Library of Congress’ Photo stream on flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/library_of_congress/
  3. Flickr
    Flickr has a few sites with lots of images and using the creative commons section ensures you have the right to reuse the image.
    Flickr Creative Commons http://www.flickr.com/creativecommons/
    Flickr Blue Mountains http://flickrcc.bluemountains.net/flickrCC
    Flickr Storm http://www.zoo-m.com/flickr-storm/
  4. Stock Xchng http://sxc.hu/
    Go to advanced search and select restricted category as no or partly.
  5. Free Foto http://www.freefoto.com/
  6. Free Digital Photos http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/
  7. Every Stock Photo http://www.everystockphoto.com/
    Here you want to find images that have the following permissions:
  8. Image Base http://imagebase.davidniblack.com/main.php
    You can use these images for whatever you want, personal, commercial or non-profit -use for free.
  9. Pic Finder http://www.picfindr.com/
  10. Pictures from Old Books http://www.fromoldbooks.org/
  11. Pics 4 Learning http://pics.tech4learning.com/
  12. U S Government Photos and Graphics http://www.usa.gov/Topics/Graphics.shtml
  13. GRIN – Great Images In NASA http://grin.hq.nasa.gov/
  14. USGS Maps and Imagery http://www.usgs.gov/pubprod/
  15. Public Domain Photo http://www.pdphoto.org/
  16. Morgue File http://www.morguefile.com/
    Many of the images on this site are free to reuse and require no attribution.
    “morgueFile free photo – You are allowed to copy, distribute, transmit the work and to adapt the work. Attribution is not required. You are prohibited from using this work in a stand alone manner. License summary”
  17. Free Pixels  http://www.freepixels.com/
    You can use the images freely, even in magazines, as long as you retain the credit: freepixels.com.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: