From the monthly archives:

January 2010

What do Effective Leaders Do?

What do effective leaders do? Is there some elusive quality that good leaders possess? Something they are born with, that others can’t learn? I read about leadership a lot. I have some favorite authors, many of whom deal with leading change. As an educational technology leader, I recognize that much of what I do is […]

0 comments Read the full article →

ISTE Conference Keynote

ISTE has announced the winner of their first crowdsourced keynote: The ISTE 2010 Keynote Committee is delighted to announce the results of its first ever “Crowdsourced Keynote” project! After nearly two weeks of voting and more than three months of input gathering, Hawaii-based educator Dr. Jeff Piontek has emerged as the people’s choice to headline […]

0 comments Read the full article →

ISTE Webinar

I have signed up for the ISTE webinar: Make the Leader-Shift:  Strategies to Develop Transformational Leadership Wednesday, January 20, 2010 1 pm Pacific / 2 pm Mountain / 3 pm Central / 4 pm Eastern From the ISTE site: Effective and sustainable leadership is essential to survive and thrive in our ever-changing world. Transformational leadership […]

0 comments Read the full article →

Earthquake in Haiti

It seems that during every disaster in recent years the world has been quickly informed about it by the people on the ground and in the middle of it. I read tweets, blogs, and messages about the Indian Ocean Tsunami, the water landing of US Air Flight 1549 on the Hudson River by Captain Sullenberger, […]

0 comments Read the full article →

Fun Photo Editing

People often comment (positively) on my Facebook profile image and ask how I did it. I used Dumpr to create a special effect, taking a rather boring photo of myself and styling it like a Rubik’s cube. To try this yourself, go to http://www.dumpr.net/ and choose the Rubik’s cube effect. Select an image from your […]

0 comments Read the full article →

Massachusetts CTO Clinic

CoSN, in conjunction with METAA, the Massachusetts state CoSN chapter, will host a CTO Clinic on April 26, 2010 at Holy Cross in Worcester. CTO Clinics provide professional development designed specifically for the school Chief Technology Officer (administrator for technology). See the announcement at: CoSN Events and on METAA’s web site: METAA Events CoSN members […]

0 comments Read the full article →

Is Technology Considered a Critical Element in your School District?

Is anyone else experiencing a direct conflict between budgeting and technology expectations? The Boston Globe has a front page story today, Schools bracing for deep cutbacks. It talks about cutting “into the marrow of the classroom,” cuts in recent years having been supplies, texts and infrastructure, and this round of reductions being more personnel-based. Against […]

0 comments Read the full article →